Eric Thrane

The observational gravitational-wave astronomy group

Members past and present

Current postgraduate students:
  • Christian Adamcewicz
  • Shun Cheung
  • Teagan Clarke
  • Valentina Di Marco
  • Rowina Nathan
  • Hui Tong

    Current honours students:
  • Nikhil Kannachel
  • Lachlan Passenger

  • Dr Sylvia Biscoveanu (former Fulbright Scholar 2018)
  • Nick Farrow (BSc 2019)
  • Dr Shanika Galaudage (PhD 2023)
  • Dr Boris Goncharov (PhD 2020)
  • Dr Francisco Hernandez-Vivanco (PhD 2021)
  • Dr Moritz Hübner (PhD 2021),\
  • Dr Marcus Lower (BSc 2017)
  • Ethan Payne (BSc 2020)
  • Dr Lucy McNeill (BSc 2016)
  • Dr Grant Meadors (former postdoc 2019)
  • Dr Isobel Romero-Shaw (PhD 2021)
  • Dr Pablo Rosado (former postdoc 2016)
  • Dr Letizia Sammut (former postdoc, 2017)
  • Dr Colm Talbot (PhD 2020)
  • Dr Chris Whittle (BSc 2016)
  • Dr Avi Vajpeyi (PhD 2023)
  • Kris Walker (BSc 2021)
  • Dr Xingjiang Zhu (former postdoc 2021)

  • Joining the group

    If you are a student interested in joining the Monash Gravity group, please feel free to email me to learn about current opportunities. Prospective doctoral students can find the deadlines for scholarship applications here. There are four scholarship rounds, two international (closing dates late March and late August) and two domestic (closing dates late May and late October). In order to be eligible, students need to hold a qualifying degree by (a few days after) the closing date. Following the closing date, applicants are ranked by the School and forwarded to the Faculty of Science for a second round of ranking. The results of this ranking are announced 4-6 weeks after the closing date. Click the following link to enter an expression of interest (EOI). Attach a full CV, academic transcripts, and English language documentation. If you are interested in commencing your PhD outside of the normal academic calendar, please email to discuss your options.